top of page

Our Liturgy

Every church has a way of ordering its worship, known as liturgy or “work of the people.” Even the most “non-liturgical churches” still have normal patterns of worship. The important question is what pattern does a church follow and why?


Solomon's Porch is a Convergent Catholic church which follows a pattern of worship similar to what you would find in Anglican, Lutheran or Roman Churches.

Our liturgy is a locally adapted version of the Divine Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom.

The Church Year

Just as the natural world has different seasons and a monthly calendar, the Church also has a calendar and different seasons. The seasons of the church year focus our attention on the work of God in history to set the world right. They allow us – each and every year – to marinate in different aspects of the gospel story. This protects us from neglecting certain facets of the gospel and fosters a holistic view of God’s purposes for us. For Christians, the church calendar starts at Advent, looking toward the coming King.

Advent (Early November to December 25)

Seasons of the Church Year

Advent begins 7 weeks before Nativity (Christmas), it is a season of anticipation and a reflection on the coming of Christ. We typically celebrate Advent by displaying the color purple or sarum blue, which signifies the royalty of Christ.

Nativity (December 25 through January 5th)

Nativity (commonly called Christmas) celebrates the birth of Jesus Christ, the Incarnation of God. This season begins on December 25th and extends through Theophany. The Nativity highlights the profound mystery of God becoming human to dwell among us, bringing salvation to the world. The colors used during this season are white, symbolizing purity, and gold, representing the glory and divinity of Christ. The Nativity season is a time of joy, reflection, and hope.

Theophanytide (January 6th through Forgiveness Sunday)

Theophanytide celebrates the manifestation of Christ to the world. This season marks key events such as the visit of the Magi, the Baptism of Jesus, and the Wedding at Cana, revealing Christ's divine nature. The color white used to symbolize the purity and glory of Christ during this time.

Great Lent (Ash Wednesday through vigil of Palm Sunday)

In Lent we join with our Savior as He sets his face towards Jerusalem, where He would be crucified as King. It is the most somber of all our seasons, and it is a time of fasting and humbling ourselves before the Lord. We once again display the color purple as an homage to our King.  The last few days of Lent begins with Psalm Sunday and ends the Saturday before Easter Sunday.

Holy Week (Holy Monday through morning of Holy Saturday)

IHoly Week is the most sacred time in the Christian liturgical calendar, commemorating the Passion, Death, and Resurrection of Jesus Christ. It begins with Palm Sunday, marking Jesus' triumphant entry into Jerusalem, followed by Maundy Thursday, which commemorates the Last Supper and Jesus’ institution of the Eucharist. Good Friday observes Jesus' crucifixion and death. Holy Saturday is a day of reflection and waiting, leading to the celebration of the Resurrection at the Easter Vigil. The colors used during Holy Week are primarily red and black, symbolizing the suffering and death of Jesus, with a shift to white and gold at the Easter Vigil, symbolizing the joy and glory of the Resurrection.

Pascha (Pascha Sunday through Pentecost)

Pascha (commonly called Easter), the Feast of Feasts, celebrates the Resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. This joyous season begins with the Paschal Vigil and continues through Pentecost. It is a time of great celebration, marked by the color white, symbolizing purity, and gold, representing the glory of the Resurrection. Pascha is the culmination of the liturgical year, reflecting the victory of life over death and the promise of eternal life.

Metanoia (Pentecost through All Saints)

The remainder of the year we call Metanoia (commonly called Ordinary time). It is a season transformation for the church and a reflection of the new life that comes by living through the Holy Spirit. It begins on Pentecost Sunday, which is colored red to remind us of the outpouring of the Spirit on the church like tongues of fire. The focus of the Season of Metanoia is one of discipleship and dedication- that is there is a focus on the work of the church (charity, caring for the poor, etc). Starting with Trinity Sunday, the color is green so that we have a constant reminder of the Spirit’s life-giving and renewing work in our lives.

Fasts of the Church Year

Fasting periods, for the Eastern Rite Convergent Catholic, are times of spiritual renewal, reflection, and preparation. These fasts invite the faithful to deepen their relationship with God through prayer, repentance, and self-discipline. Fasting helps to detach from worldly distractions and focus on spiritual growth, aligning the believer's heart with the rhythms of the liturgical year.

Nativity Fast (November 15 to December 24)

The Nativity Fast, begging in Advent, prepares believers for the celebration of the Nativity of Christ (Christmas). This 40-day fast is a time of anticipation, spiritual renewal, and reflection on the mystery of the Incarnation.

Lenten Fast (Clean Monday to Holy Saturday

The Lenten Fast, during Great Lent, is the most significant fasting period, leading up to Pascha (Easter). It begins on Clean Monday and ends on Holy Saturday. This period of 40 days is marked by repentance, prayer, fasting, and almsgiving, preparing the faithful for the Resurrection of Christ.

Apostles Fast (Pentecost Monday to June 29)

The Apostles Fast begins after the Feast of Pentecost and ends on June 29th with the Feast of Saints Peter and Paul. This fast honors the apostles' commitment and their missionary work, encouraging the faithful to renew their own dedication to the teachings of Christ.

Dormition Fast (August to June 14)

The Dormition Fast precedes the Feast of the Dormition of the Theotokos on August 15th. It is a time of spiritual preparation and reflection, focusing on the humility and obedience of Mary, the Mother of God.

bottom of page